AUSFTA - Medicines Working Group - 2007 Meeting Statement

Meeting Statement of the Medicines Working Group

Page last updated: 18 May 2007

PDF Printable version Medicines Working Group Meeting Statement 2007 (PDF 10 KB)

The Medicines Working Group meeting was held on 30 April 2007 in Sydney, Australia. The meeting was co-chaired by Ms Jane Halton, Secretary of the Australian Department of Health and Ageing and Mr Eric Hargan, Acting Deputy Secretary of the US Department of Health and Human Services.

The Medicines Working Group was convened pursuant to the Australia-United States Free Trade Agreement (AUSFTA) to promote discussion and mutual understanding of issues related to AUSFTA Annex 2-C (except those issues covered in paragraph 4), including the importance of pharmaceutical research and development to continued improvement of healthcare outcomes.

The discussions were constructive and informative.