NPAAC Membership

A list of the National Pathology Accreditation Advisory Council (NPAAC) members and their nominating organisations.

Page last updated: 03 September 2021

As outlined in the Order in Council and the Amended Order in Council, the National Pathology Accreditation Advisory Council (NPAAC) comprises nominees from peak professional and scientific bodies, consumers, representatives from all States and Territories and the Department of Health. The current membership of NPAAC is as follows:


Assoc. Professor Beverley Rowbotham

Dr Tony Badrick
Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia (RCPA)

Assoc. Professor Bruce Bennetts
Human Genetics Society of Australia (HGSA)

Professor Francis Bowling
Australian Medical Association (AMA)

Assoc. Professor Richard Brightwell
Consumers Health Forum (CHF)

Assoc. Professor Merrole Cole-Sinclair
Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia (RCPA)

Professor Jonathan Iredell
Australian Society for Microbiology (ASM)

Dr Helen Martin
Australasian Association of Clinical Biologists (AACB)

Assoc. Professor Elizabeth Salisbury
Public Pathology Australia (PPA)

Mrs Robyn Wells
Australian Institute of Medical Scientists (AIMS)

Dr Helen Wordsworth
Pathology Australia (PA)

State and Territory Representatives

Assoc. Professor Robert Baird
Northern Territory Health Service

Dr Glenn Edwards
Australian Capital Territory Health

Dr Thomas Dodd
South Australian Department of Health

Dr Scott Ragg
Tasmanian Department of Health and Human Services

Dr Hans Schneider
Victorian Department of Health

Dr Miles Beaman
Western Australia Department of Health

Dr Petra Derrington
Queensland Department of Health

Dr Michael Whiley
New South Wales Health

Assistant Secretary, Diagnostic Imaging and Pathology Branch
Australian Government Department of Health

Any queries should be directed to the NPAAC Secretariat.