Mental health of young people in Australia


Page last updated: October 2000

A National Collaborating Group with members drawn from several states across Australia was established to facilitate the Child and Adolescent Component of the National Survey of Mental Health and Well-Being.

Chairperson: Professor R. J. Kosky, Department of Psychiatry, University of Adelaide.


  • Professor B. Nurcombe, Department of Psychiatry, The University of Queensland.
  • Professor G. C. Patton, Centre for Adolescent Health, University of Melbourne.
  • Emeritus Professor B. Raphael, The University of Queensland.
  • Professor J. Rey, Department of Psychological Medicine, University of Sydney.
  • A/Professor M. G. Sawyer, Department of Psychiatry, University of Adelaide.
  • A/Professor S. R. Zubrick, TVW Telethon Institute of Child Health Research, Centre for Child Health Research, University of Western Australia.
Consumer representative for the survey: Ms M. Drake.

Specialist statistical advice was provided by:
  • Dr P. Baghurst, Public Health Research Unit, Women's and Children's Hospital.
  • Mr E. Brinkley, Australian Bureau of Statistics.
Additional advice was provided by:
  • Professor M. Prior, Department of Psychology, Royal Children's Hospital, University of Melbourne.
  • Professor S. Henderson, Centre for Mental Health Research, The Australian National University.
Editorial assistance was provided by: Mr D. Francis.
Top of page